Content versioning is supported in message and data automations. Automations are stored in three states:
- Draft: Allows for editing, testing, and previewing without affecting the published version.
- Published: The live message that will be sent when triggered by a sending method, or the live data automation that will run according to your trigger or schedule.
- Past versions: Previously published message or data automation that can be copied to draft for further editing.
You can see which content state you're viewing by clicking the content version buttons in the left navigation bar.
The navigation tabs at the top of the page also control which state is displayed.
When an automation is first created, the state is set to draft. After you provide the required content, the automation can be published. Enabling automated message sending methods is not possible until the message is published.
A published message is the version that will be sent to contacts when one of the sending methods is enabled. The published data automation will run according to your schedule.
If you need to edit a published automation, click Copy To Draft to begin editing.
When a published automation is copied to draft, the live version will continue to run until the new draft is published, at which point it replaces the live version.
When you publish a draft, the previously live version will be archived as a past version. Past versions are saved under the publish date and time.
You can recall past versions for editing by selecting one from the Past Versions dropdown and clicking the Copy To Draft button.
In the next article, you can learn about sending methods.
Please sign in to leave a comment.