Content versioning is supported in message and data automations. Automations are stored in 3 states:
- Draft - allows for editing, testing, and previewing without affecting the published version.
- Published - the "live" message that will be sent when triggered by a sending method or the "live" data automation that will run according to your trigger or schedule.
- Past versions - previously published message or data automation that can be copied to draft for further editing.
You are able to see which content state you are viewing by clicking content version links in the left navigation bar.
The navigation tabs at the top of the page also control which state is in focus.
When first created, the automation state is set to draft. After the required content is provided, the automation can be published.
A published message is the version that will be sent to contacts when one of the sending methods is enabled. Published data automation will run according to your schedule.
If you need to edit a published automation, click Copy To Draft to begin editing.
When a published automation is copied to draft, the live version will continue to run until the new draft is published, at which point it replaces the live version.
When you publish a draft, the previously live version will be archived as a past version. Past versions are saved using the automation publish date and time as the version title.
You can recall past versions for editing by selecting one from the past versions dropdown menu and clicking the Copy To Draft button.
In the next article learn about sending methods.