Automated messages are stored in 3 states:
- Draft - allows for editing, testing and previewing without affecting the published version.
- Published - the "live" message that will be sent when triggered by a sending method.
- Past versions - previously published messages that can be copied to a draft for further editing.
You are able to see which message state you are viewing by clicking the tabs in the left navigation bar.
The navigation tabs at the top of the page also control which state you are viewing.
When an automated message is created, it is set as a draft message. After completing the message header and message content settings, the message is able to be published.
Once the message is in a published state, the sending method can be enabled.
The published message is the state that will be sent to contacts when a sending method is activated.
If you need to edit a published message, click the button labeled "Copy to Draft".
This will replace the draft with the published message for editing. Once you are finished editing, you can publish the draft to overwrite the published state.
When you publish a draft message, the previously published message will be saved as a past version.
Any past version can then be recalled for editing by selecting the past version and clicking the button labeled "Copy to draft".
In the next article learn about sending methods.